乳酶

乳酶
乳酶

乳製品酶參與乳汁的凝結以製造乾酪,提高某些乾酪的保質期以及某些乳汁的營養成分。我們在催熟劑方面的全球領先地位可幫助您從資源和經驗中受益。我們的日記酵素有助於改善所有類型奶酪的功能,質量和成熟度。

我們將菌株和酶系列的三個關鍵優勢(味道,質地改善和產量提高)相結合的能力為客戶提供了獨特的解決方案。

乳酶產品

我們可以幫助您:

  • 優化所需的芳香特性
  • 無需增稠劑即可獲得最佳質地
  • 增加健康益處
  • 確保新鮮度
  • 減少脂肪含量
  • 不添加糖或甜味劑即可帶來甜味
  • 無需人工防腐劑即可獲得卓越的品質,新鮮度和保質期

我們還可以幫助您重新設計產品,以減少或消除添加劑的使用,例如:

  • 防腐劑和紋理劑
  • 甜味劑

世界人口的百分之七十(不斷增加)對乳糖不耐症,但這並不意味著他們不能嘗試牛奶,奶酪,酸奶和其他乳製品。我們的乳糖酶(一種乳酶)可將乳糖分解為葡萄糖和半乳糖,從而減少不適感。

水解牛奶蛋白可防止牛奶過敏。

牛奶蛋白過敏對於某些人來說是一個非常嚴重的問題,尤其是對於先天性過敏的人。臨床症狀主要表現在血管性水腫,蕁麻疹,神經性皮炎,呼吸系統疾病,急性腹痛,腹瀉,嘔吐和過敏反應。乳球蛋白或酪蛋白(在某些特定人群中是變應原)可以避免腸道粘膜上皮細胞中存在的免疫球蛋白(由於具有免疫原性蛋白),並吸附在腸粘膜上。免疫系統的作用,在某些嬰兒和成人中會對牛奶產生過敏反應,並引起皮疹和哮喘等症狀。

使用選擇的蛋白酶,通過水解獲得的肽不僅可以改善消化和吸收,還可以通過抗原的關鍵位點水解片段,從而大大降低其抗原性,從而防止牛奶過敏。與游離氨基酸的混合物相比,乳蛋白的酶水解產物具有口感好,吸收率高,滲透壓低的優點。

通常,酶解處理和熱處理或超濾處理的協同過程用於產生低變應原性酪蛋白和乳清蛋白。水解。熱處理對乳蛋白的免疫原性影響很小。但是,熱處理會影響牛奶蛋白的構型,提高蛋白水解酶與底物之間接觸的可能性,並獲得低變應原性蛋白水解產物。

牛奶包含許多具有抗菌活性的成分,並具有多種作用。

像免疫球蛋白,乳鐵蛋白,乳過氧化物酶和溶菌酶一樣,這些成分可以防止奶牛發生乳腺炎,在原料奶和乳製品的存儲過程中抑制微生物的生長,但僅在有限的時間內有效。乳過氧化物酶是主要的用於防止微生物污染的物質。每個乳過氧化物酶分子包含一個鐵原子。乳過氧化物酶本身不具有抑菌活性,並且天然由過氧化氫和硫氰酸鹽組成。

抗菌系統,即所謂的乳過氧化物酶系統,具有抗菌和防腐作用。乳過氧化物酶可以抑制革蘭氏陰性菌(包括大腸桿菌和沙門氏菌)和革蘭氏陽性菌。它的抑菌作用與5H,溫度和細菌數有關。

乳過氧化物酶系統的抗菌性能越來越多地用於動物生產和臨床醫學。例如,原料乳自身的乳過氧化物酶系統的激活可以延長保質期。在原料奶中添加硫氰酸鈉可防止牛奶變質;在牛奶代用品中添加牛奶過氧化物酶來代替抗生素可以預防耐藥性。

乳糖不耐症是許多地區非常普遍的問題。例如,通常認為台灣人應有一半以上的乳糖不耐症,甚至有些研究認為,幾乎100%的亞洲人具有一定程度的乳糖消化能力。

如果您隨便抓住路人,問喝牛奶是否會使您的胃部不適或引起腹瀉,我認為您很容易遇到會回答“是”的人,其中很大一部分是由於乳糖不耐症引起的。但是什麼是乳糖不耐症?聽說過因牛奶攝入不足引起的乳糖不耐症會導致鈣缺乏症甚至骨質疏鬆症,我該怎麼辦?

乳糖不耐症是對含乳糖食品耐受性差的一種情況。最常見的原因是乳糖酶基因的表達減弱,導致無法消化乳糖的乳糖酶不足,甚至可能在腸絨毛中。乳糖酶不足或少量的乳糖酶可能是由於破壞了小鼠的粘膜所致。小腸。

乳糖是二糖。
當吃含乳糖的食物時,小腸中的乳糖酶(一種乳酶)將食物中的乳糖分解為兩個簡單的糖,半乳糖和葡萄糖,然後被小腸的粘膜吸收。

如果由於某種原因,乳糖無法分解並在小腸中順利吸收,則乳糖會繼續進入結腸系統,並在結腸中被能夠消化乳糖的某些細菌消化。

這些特定細菌主要通過發酵來消化乳糖。發酵過程中會產生大量氣體。這是喝牛奶後乳糖不耐症患者經常出現放屁,腸胃脹氣,打ic甚至輕度胃痛的主要原因。另外,這些未消化的成分還引起結腸中的滲透壓升高,這增加了結腸中的水含量,從而可能出現腹瀉和腸蠕動的症狀。

順便說一下,當談到乳糖不耐症時,我們必須提到兩個專有名稱:

乳糖酶缺乏症:
乳糖酶缺乏症的特徵是乳糖酶的活性(一種乳製品小腸刷狀緣處的酶比正常人低,因此無法完全消化食物中的乳糖。

乳糖吸收不良:
乳糖吸收不良的特徵是小腸不能吸收食物中的大多數乳糖。這裡的乳糖吸收並不意味著乳糖的直接吸收。乳糖必須先水解為葡萄糖和半乳糖,才能被小腸吸收。

乳糖不耐症的發生頻率更高?
就流行病學趨勢而言,歐洲人的患病率最低,而非洲裔美國人,西班牙裔,亞裔,亞裔美國人和美洲原住民患病率更高。

乳糖吸收不良和不耐受在6歲以下的兒童中很少見,但隨著年齡的增長而增加。為何乳糖不耐症的患病率在某些種族之間差異如此之大?人們普遍認為它與基因和飲食習慣有關。

乳糖不耐症的發病機理是什麼?
乳糖的攝入量隨年齡的變化而變化。在嬰儿期,碳水化合物佔卡路里的35-55%,其中大部分來自乳糖。斷奶後,乳糖的攝入量會減少直至達到與成年人相同的水平。

乳糖酶將乳糖水解為葡萄糖和半乳糖

乳糖吸收過程中的決定速度的步驟是“乳糖消化”。在小腸中,乳糖接觸從小腸的微絨毛釋放的乳糖酶,分解葡萄糖和半乳糖,然後葡萄糖和半乳糖可以被小腸吸收。並且太遲而無法消化的乳糖仍被送到大腸。

乳糖仍可被人體在大腸中使用

乳糖酶(一種乳酶)的活性可能會發現,由於吸收的乳糖量高,高達75%的乳糖會穿過小腸並到達闌尾和結腸。

大腸可以發酵乳糖並將其轉化為短鏈脂肪酸和氫(或甲烷)。短鏈脂肪酸包含乙酸,丁酸和丙酸酯,它們可以被人腸上皮細胞直接吸收。

短鏈脂肪酸可用作能源。換句話說,即使小腸不能消化乳糖,在結腸微生物發酵後它也可以被人體間接使用,但是過多的發酵是有問題的。如果小腸不能消化大部分乳糖,則乳糖發酵產物會在大腸和乳糖本身中引起乳糖不耐症的症狀。

有關乳製品酶(乳糖酶)的其他閱讀:

乳糖是什麼?
乳糖是母乳和其他哺乳動物乳(例如牛乳或山羊乳)的純天然成分。乳糖存在於牛奶,酸奶,奶酪,巧克力和冰淇淋等食品中。乳糖可以為我們的身體提供能量,支持鈣的吸收並確保人體健康消化。

乳糖不耐症是什麼?
乳糖不耐症也稱為乳糖不耐症,是一種食物不耐症。乳糖不耐症患者缺乏乳糖酶(一種乳製品酶),因此他們無法分解所消耗的乳糖。未消化和分解的乳糖直接進入腸道。大腸菌細菌水解乳糖形成氣體,引起腸胃脹氣和腹部不適等症狀。

乳糖酶是什麼?
乳糖酶(一種乳製品酶)的作用是分解乳糖。在小腸中,乳糖酶將乳糖大分子分解為葡萄糖和半乳糖,它們更容易被人體吸收,從而為人體提供能量。

乳糖不耐症在世界範圍內如何分佈?
乳糖不耐症是一種食物不耐症,遍及世界各地。世界上超過70%的人口不同程度地患有乳糖不耐症。

哪些食物可能含有乳糖?
乳糖可以在牛奶,酸奶,奶酪和巧克力等食物中找到。乳糖還廣泛用於食品工業,例如嬰兒食品,糖果和人造乳的生產中。乳糖的味道略帶甜味,但是人們通常不會在攝取乳糖時直接注意到乳糖的存在。即使使用大量的乳糖,也不影響食品的味道。乳糖還可以在冷凍食品和某些調味料中用作增稠劑,因此乳糖不耐症患者應注意這種“隱藏的”乳糖。

乳糖不耐症患者服用乳糖後會出現哪些副作用?它通常何時出現?
患有乳糖不耐症的人在食用含乳糖飲食後約15至30分鐘會出現腹痛,腸胃氣脹,腹瀉和其他副作用。其他症狀包括胃部雜音(胃中發出咯咯聲),腹部絞痛,胃部飽滿甚至噁心。許多胃腸道副作用也可導致體重減輕。

如何減輕上述副作用?
乳糖不耐症的人可以服用乳糖酶分解體內的乳糖,從而防止未分解的乳糖直接進入腸道。 Better Food的乳糖酶片可以補充體內的乳糖酶。在開始含乳糖飲食之前,只需服用此類乳糖酶片劑即可。

如果一個人長時間不喝牛奶,恢復喝酒後會出現乳糖不耐症嗎?
一個長時間不喝牛奶的人在恢復飲用後實際上可能患有乳糖不耐症。造成這種現象的原因是,人體長時間不吸收乳糖,小腸中產生的乳糖酶(一種乳酶)無法發揮作用。逐漸地,小腸排出的乳糖酶的量減少。

胃痛或腹瀉是否一定意味著我患有乳糖不耐症?

不必要。食物不耐症有多種形式。麵筋不耐受,組胺不耐受或果糖不耐受也可引起類似的副作用。有時腹部不適不是某種形式的不寬容引起的。大量食用豆類,白菜,洋蔥和其他食物也會引起腸胃脹氣。消化系統的副作用不是確定乳糖不耐症的唯一標準。

乳糖不耐症的原因是什麼?
乳糖不耐症的主要原因是體內缺乏乳糖酶。人類乳糖酶缺乏症分為三種類型:成人乳糖酶缺乏症,繼發性乳糖酶缺乏症和先天性乳糖酶缺乏症。

由於母乳的消耗,普通人的出生後以及嬰兒和幼兒中的乳糖酶活性達到最高水平。五歲以後,人體的乳糖酶活性持續下降。如果不保持喝牛奶的習慣,成年人經常會出現乳糖不耐症。

繼發性乳糖不耐症也稱為“暫時性乳糖不耐症”。主要原因是腸道疾病引起的小腸粘膜暫時性損傷。損傷後,乳糖酶不能正常產生,導致乳糖不耐症。

先天性乳糖不耐症的人不能從出生時就產生乳糖酶,但是這種乳糖不耐症在世界範圍內相對罕見。不管乳糖不耐症的類型如何,都可以通過補充乳糖酶來緩解副作用。

哪些現像我可以識別為乳糖不耐症?
通過自我診斷很難判斷是否存在乳糖不耐症。許多患有乳糖不耐症的人並不能完全自己產生乳糖酶,但產生的量不足並隨年齡的增長而下降。

大多數乳糖不耐症的人可以消化少量的乳糖。通常,僅當攝入大量乳糖時才會發生各種副作用。我們的建議是,如果懷疑乳糖不耐症,應諮詢醫生,不要盲目反應。

有沒有辦法自己測試乳糖不耐症?
如果您懷疑自己患有乳糖不耐症,最簡單的自測方法是避免飲食中含有乳糖的飲食幾週,並觀察其副作用以前發生的消失。但是,最好及時與您的醫生聯繫並進行諮詢和檢查。

乳糖不耐症的測試方法有哪些?
氫呼吸測試目前在全世界範圍內廣泛用於檢測乳糖不耐症。它可以測試一個人是否患有乳糖不耐症。如果未分解的乳糖直接進入大腸,它將立即被大腸菌消化,形成短鏈脂肪酸。

在此過程中,腸中還會產生二氧化碳,氫氣和甲烷。氫氣進入血液,並通過呼吸呼出。氫氣呼吸測試就是基於這一原理來確定攝入牛奶後呼出的氫氣的濃度,從而獲得到達結腸的乳糖含量。

住院接受正規檢測後我還需要注意什麼?
乳糖耐量測試後收到乳糖耐量測試結果時,可以分三個階段進行乳糖耐量測試。在最初的兩到四個星期中,根本不吃含乳糖的食物,因此腸子完全恢復了。

在這段時間之後,您可以在接下來的四到六週內逐漸攝入乳糖。通過逐漸增加該量,您可以大致判斷出,如果乳糖攝入量超過該量,就會出現乳糖不耐症的不良反應。在最後一個階段中,根據前兩個階段的總結確定將來是否會食用含乳糖飲食。

為什麼越來越多的人患有乳糖不耐症?
乳糖不耐症並不是在古希臘發現的突然現象。但是,在過去的60年中,這種現象才剛剛開始研究,並逐漸被人們所了解。在亞洲,許多人不了解乳糖不耐症。

但是,不能否認這種現像是普遍的。長期以來,乳製品一直是亞洲餐桌的裝飾。如今,越來越多的人購買和消費乳製品,因此這種現象得到了更清晰的體現。

為什麼我不能突然消化乳糖?
一般來說,五歲以後體內的乳糖酶活性會逐漸下降。如果五歲以後停止喝牛奶,以後再接觸乳製品時,很可能會遇到乳糖不耐症的副作用。

人乳糖酶的分泌也會隨著年齡的增長而減少,因此很明顯,老年人突然報告了乳糖不耐症。乳糖不耐症的確切時機因人而異,沒有具體標準。

乳糖不耐症和牛奶過敏之間有什麼區別?
許多人認為乳糖不耐症的副作用是對牛奶的過敏反應。牛奶過敏的過敏原是牛奶蛋白而不是乳糖。

發生牛奶過敏時,人體的免疫系統會將牛奶蛋白視為有害物質,引起嚴重的過敏反應(在嚴重的情況下可能危及生命),乳糖不耐症的副作用不會影響免疫系統。症狀不會對人類生命安全造成太多不良後果。

乳糖不耐症會傳染嗎?
由於腹瀉是乳糖不耐症的副作用之一,因此許多人將乳糖不耐症與類似於腸道感染的傳染病相混淆。實際上,乳糖不耐症不是傳染性的,但是有遺傳遺傳的可能性。

乳糖不耐症能否完全治愈?
是否可以治愈乳糖不耐症取決於您患有哪種乳糖不耐症。成人型乳糖不耐症通常伴隨生命,不易治愈。當腸功能恢復時,由腸粘膜的暫時性損害引起的繼發性乳糖不耐症得以治愈。

乳糖不耐症對身體有什麼影響?
由於乳糖不耐症,許多人放棄了牛奶或乳製品。牛奶富含重要的營養物質,例如鋅,維生素B2和維生素B12。同時,牛奶和乳製品是人體鈣的最重要來源之一。

乳製品中的棄糧會導致人體缺乏重要的營養物質,例如鈣和維生素D。維生素D可以幫助我們的身體更好地吸收鈣。鈣缺乏也會增加骨質疏鬆症的風險。為了正常食用牛奶和奶製品並維持我們的身體長期健康,乳糖不耐症患者可以補充乳糖酶。

Dairy Enzymes

Dairy Enzymes
Dairy Enzymes

Dairy enzymes are involved in the coagulation of milk for the manufacture of cheese, improve the shelf life of certain cheeses, and the nutritional composition of certain kinds of milk. Our leading global position in ripening agents helps you benefit from resources and experience. Our diary enzymes help improve the function, quality, and ripening of all types of cheese.

Our ability to combine the three key benefits of our strain and enzyme range – taste, texture improvement, and yield enhancement – provides a unique solution for our customers.

Dairy Enzymes Product

We can help you to:

  • Optimize the desired aromatic profile
  • Achieve optimal texture without a texturizing agent
  • Increasing health benefits
  • Ensuring freshness
  • Reduce the fat content
  • Bring sweetness without adding sugar or sweetener
  • Achieve superior quality, freshness and shelf life without artificial preservatives

We can also help you reformulate your products to reduce or eliminate the use of additives such as :

  • Preservatives and texturizers
  • Sweeteners

Seventy percent of the world’s population (a rising percentage) is lactose intolerant, but that doesn’t mean they can’t try milk, cheese, yogurt and other dairy products. Our lactase enzyme (a kind of Dairy Enzymes) breaks down lactose into glucose and galactose, which reduces discomfort.

Hydrolyse milk protein to prevent allergic milk reactions.

Milk protein allergy is a very serious problem for certain people, especially for people with congenital allergies. The clinical symptoms manifest themselves mainly in angioedema, urticaria, neurodermatitis, respiratory problems, acute abdominal pain, diarrhoea, vomiting and allergic reactions. Lactoglobulin or casein, which is an allergen in some specific populations, can avoid the immunoglobulin present in epithelial cells of the intestinal mucosa due to the immunogenic protein and is adsorbed on the intestinal mucosa The action of the immune system, which in some infants and adults causes allergic reactions to milk and causes symptoms such as rashes and asthma.

Using the selected protease, the peptides obtained by hydrolysis not only improve digestion and absorption, but also hydrolyse the fragments with the crucial site of the antigen, significantly reducing its antigenicity, thus preventing milk allergy. Compared to the mixture of free amino acids, the enzymatic hydrolysis product of milk protein has the advantages of good taste, high absorption rate and low osmotic pressure.

In general, the synergy process of enzymolysis treatment and heat treatment or ultrafiltration treatment is used to produce hypoallergenic casein and whey protein. Hydrolysis. The heat treatment has little effect on the immunogenicity of the milk protein. However, the heat treatment can influence the configuration of the milk protein, improve the probability of contact between proteolytic enzyme and substrate and obtain hypoallergenic protein hydrolysate.

Milk contains many ingredients with antibacterial activity and has several effects.

Like immunoglobulin, lactoferrin, lactoperoxidase and lysozyme, these ingredients can prevent the occurrence of mastitis in dairy cows, inhibit the growth of microorganisms during the storage of raw milk and dairy products, but are only effective for a limited period of time Lactoperoxidase is the main substance used to prevent microbial contamination. Each lactoperoxidase molecule contains one iron atom. Lactoperoxidase itself has no bacteriostatic activity and consists naturally of hydrogen peroxide and thiocyanate.

The antibacterial system, the so-called lactoperoxidase system, has an antibacterial and antiseptic effect. Lactoperoxidase can inhibit Gram-negative bacteria (including E. coli and Salmonella strains) and Gram-positive bacteria. Its bacteriostatic effect is related to 5H, temperature and bacterial count.

The antibacterial properties of the lactoperoxidase system are increasingly used in animal production and clinical medicine. For example, the activation of the raw milk’s own lactoperoxidase system can prolong shelf life; the addition of sodium thiocyanate to raw milk can prevent milk spoilage; the addition of milk peroxidase to milk substitutes to replace antibiotics can prevent drug resistance.

Lactose intolerance is a very popular problem in many regions. For example, It is generally believed that Taiwanese people should have more than half the lactose intolerance, and even some studies believe that almost 100% of Asians have some degree of lactose digestion.

If you casually grab a passer-by and ask if drinking milk makes your stomach uncomfortable or causes diarrhoea, I think you can easily meet people who answer “yes”, and a large proportion of them are caused by lactose intolerance. But what is lactose intolerance? People who have heard that lactose intolerance due to insufficient milk intake can lead to calcium deficiency and even osteoporosis, what should I do?

Lactose intolerance is a condition of poor tolerance to foods containing lactose. The most common cause is the weakened expression of the lactase gene, which leads to insufficient lactase that can digest lactose, and possibly also in the intestinal villi The lactase is insufficient, or a small amount can be caused by damage to the mucous membrane of the small intestine.

Lactose is a disaccharide.
When you eat foods containing lactose, the lactase (a kind of Dairy Enzymes) in the small intestine breaks down the lactose in the food into two simple sugars, galactose and glucose, which are then absorbed by the mucous membrane of the small intestine.

If for some reason, lactose cannot be broken down and absorbed smoothly in the small intestine, the lactose continues to be passed into the colon system where it is digested by certain bacteria in the colon that can digest lactose.

These specific bacteria digest lactose mainly by fermentation. A lot of gas is produced during fermentation. This is the main reason why patients with lactose intolerance after drinking milk often have fart, flatulence, hiccups and even mild stomach aches. In addition, these undigested constituents also cause an increase in the osmotic pressure in the colon, which increases the water content in the colon, so that symptoms of diarrhoea and bowel movements can occur.

By the way, when it comes to lactose intolerance, we have to mention two proper names:

Lactase deficiency:
the characteristic of lactase deficiency is that the activity of lactase (a kind of Dairy Enzymes) at the brush border of the small intestine is lower than in normal people, making it impossible to digest lactose completely in food.

Lactose malabsorption:
The characteristic of lactose malabsorption is that the small intestine cannot absorb most of the lactose in food. Lactose absorption here does not mean the direct absorption of lactose. Lactose must be hydrolysed to glucose and galactose before it can be absorbed by the small intestine. Absorb.

In whom does lactose intolerance occur more frequently?
In terms of epidemiological trends, Europeans have the lowest prevalence, while ethnic groups such as African Americans, Hispanics, Asians, Asian Americans and Native Americans have a higher prevalence.

Lactose malabsorption and intolerance are rare in children under 6 years of age, but increase with age. And why does the prevalence of lactose intolerance vary so much among certain ethnic groups? It is generally thought to be related to genes and eating habits.

What is the mechanism of lactose intolerance?
Lactose intake varies greatly depending on age. In infancy, carbohydrates accounted for 35-55% of calories, and the majority of these came from lactose. After weaning, lactose intake decreases until it reaches the same level as in adults.

Lactase hydrolyses lactose to glucose and galactose

The speed-determining step in the process of lactose absorption is the “digestion of lactose”. In the small intestine, lactose contacts the lactase released from the microvilli of the small intestine and breaks down glucose and galactose, which can then be absorbed by the small intestine. And the lactose that is too late to be digested is still sent to the large intestine.

Lactose can still be used by the human body in the large intestine

People with low lactase (a kind of Dairy Enzymes) activity may find that up to 75% of the lactose passes through the small intestine and reaches the appendix and colon due to the amount of lactose absorbed.

Bacteria living in the large intestine can ferment lactose and convert it into short-chain fatty acids and hydrogen (or methane). The short-chain fatty acids contain acetic acid, butyric acid and propionate, which can be absorbed directly by human intestinal epithelial cells.

Short chain fatty acids can be used as an energy source. In other words, even if the small intestine cannot digest lactose, it can be used indirectly by the human body after fermentation by colon microorganisms, but too much fermentation is problematic. If the small intestine cannot digest most of the lactose, the products of lactose fermentation can cause symptoms of lactose intolerance in the large intestine and in the lactose itself.

Additional reading about the Dairy Enzymes (lactose enzyme):

What is lactose?
Lactose is a pure natural component of breast milk and other mammalian milk (such as cow’s or goat’s milk). Lactose is found in foods such as milk, yoghurt, cheese, chocolate and ice cream. Lactose can provide our body with energy, support calcium absorption and ensure a healthy digestion of the human body.

What is lactose intolerance?
Lactose intolerance, also called lactose intolerance, is a type of food intolerance. People with lactose intolerance lack lactase (a kind of Dairy Enzymes), so they cannot break down the lactose they consume. Undigested and broken down lactose goes directly into the intestines. Coliform bacteria hydrolyse lactose to form gas, causing symptoms such as flatulence and abdominal discomfort.

What is lactase?
The role of lactase (a kind of Dairy Enzymes) is to break down lactose. In the small intestine, lactase breaks down lactose macromolecules into glucose and galactose, which are more easily absorbed by the body and thus provide energy to the body.

How is lactose intolerance distributed worldwide?
Lactose intolerance is a food intolerance that is spread all over the world. Over 70% of the world’s population suffer from lactose intolerance to varying degrees.

Which foods may contain lactose?
Lactose is found in foods such as milk, yoghurt, cheese and chocolate. Lactose is also widely used in the food industry, for example in the production of baby food, sweets and artificial milk. Lactose tastes slightly sweetish, but people do not usually notice the presence of lactose directly when they ingest it. Even if a large amount of lactose is used, this does not affect the taste of the food. Lactose is also used as a thickener in frozen foods and some sauces, so people with lactose intolerance should be aware of this “hidden” lactose.

What side effects do people with lactose intolerance experience after taking lactose? When does it usually appear?
People with lactose intolerance experience abdominal pain, flatulence, diarrhoea and other side effects about 15 to 30 minutes after a lactose-containing diet. Other symptoms include stomach noises (gurgling sounds in the stomach), abdominal cramps, fullness in the stomach and even nausea. A number of gastrointestinal side effects can also lead to weight loss.

How can the side effects mentioned above be alleviated?
People with lactose intolerance can break down lactose in the body by taking lactase, thus preventing undecomposed lactose from entering the intestines directly. Better Food’s lactase tablets can supplement the lactase in the body. Simply take such lactase tablets before you start a lactose-containing diet.

If a person doesn’t drink cow’s milk for a long time, will lactose intolerance occur after resuming drinking?
A person who does not drink cow’s milk for a long time may actually suffer from lactose intolerance after they have resumed drinking. The reason for this phenomenon is that the body has not absorbed lactose for a long time and the lactase (a kind of Dairy Enzymes) produced in the small intestine could not play a role. Gradually, the amount of lactase excreted by the small intestine decreases.

Does stomach ache or diarrhoea necessarily mean that I have lactose intolerance?

Not necessarily. There are many forms of food intolerance. Gluten intolerance, histamine intolerance or fructose intolerance can also cause similar side effects. Sometimes abdominal discomfort is not caused by some form of intolerance. Beans, cabbage, onions and other foods can also cause flatulence when eaten in large quantities. Side effects in the digestive system are not the only criterion for determining lactose intolerance.

What are the causes of lactose intolerance?
The main cause of lactose intolerance is the lack of lactase in the body. There are three types of human lactase deficiency: lactase deficiency in adults, secondary lactase deficiency and congenital lactase deficiency.

Due to the consumption of breast milk, the lactase activity of the average person reaches its highest level after birth and in infants and toddlers. The lactase activity of the human body continues to decrease after the age of five. If the habit of drinking milk is not maintained, lactose intolerance often occurs in adults.

Secondary lactose intolerance is also called “temporary lactose intolerance”. The main cause is the temporary damage to the mucous membrane of the small intestine caused by intestinal diseases. After damage, lactase cannot be produced normally, which leads to lactose intolerance.

People with congenital lactose intolerance cannot produce lactase from birth, but this type of lactose intolerance is relatively rare worldwide. Regardless of the type of lactose intolerance, you can alleviate the side effects by supplementing lactase.

Which phenomena can I recognise that I have lactose intolerance?
It is difficult to judge whether a lactose intolerance is present by self-diagnosis. Many people with lactose intolerance are not fully capable of producing lactase themselves, but the amount produced is insufficient and decreases with age.

Most people with lactose intolerance can digest a small amount of lactose. In general, all kinds of side effects only occur when a large amount of lactose is ingested. Our advice is that if lactose intolerance is suspected, you should consult a doctor and not react blindly.

Is there a way to test lactose intolerance yourself?
If you suspect that you have lactose intolerance, the simpler self-testing method is to avoid a lactose-containing diet for a few weeks and to observe whether the side effects that have previously occurred disappear. However, it is best to contact your doctor in good time and have a consultation and examination.

What are the test methods for lactose intolerance?
The hydrogen breath test is currently widely used worldwide to detect lactose intolerance. It can test whether a person has lactose intolerance. If undecomposed lactose enters the large intestine directly, it is immediately digested by the coliform bacteria to form short-chain fatty acids.

During this process carbon dioxide, hydrogen and methane can also be produced in the intestine. Hydrogen gas enters the blood and is exhaled with breathing. The Hydrogen Breath Test is based on this principle to determine the concentration of hydrogen gas exhaled after ingestion of cow’s milk and thus obtain the lactose content that reaches the colon.

What else should I look out for after going to hospital for formal testing?
When you receive your lactose intolerance test result after the lactose intolerance test, you can test your lactose tolerance in three stages. In the first two to four weeks, no food containing lactose at all is taken, so that the intestine is completely restored.

After this period, you can gradually consume lactose over the next four to six weeks. By gradually increasing the amount, you can roughly judge that if the lactose intake exceeds the amount, the adverse reaction of lactose intolerance will occur. In the last phase, the possibility of consuming a lactose-containing diet in the future is determined on the basis of the summary of the two previous phases.

Why do more and more people have lactose intolerance?
Lactose intolerance is not a sudden phenomenon observed in ancient Greece. However, over the last 60 years, this phenomenon has only just begun to be studied and has gradually become known. In Asia many people do not understand lactose intolerance.

However, it cannot be denied that this phenomenon is widespread. Dairy products have long been more of an embellishment for Asian dining tables. Nowadays, more people buy and consume dairy products, so this phenomenon is reflected more clearly.

Why can’t I digest lactose suddenly?
In general, lactase activity in the body gradually decreases after the age of five. If you stop drinking milk after the age of five, it is very likely that you will experience lactose intolerance side effects when you come into contact with dairy products later.

The secretion of human lactase can also decrease with age, so it is evident that older people suddenly reported lactose intolerance. The exact timing of lactose intolerance varies from person to person and there is no specific standard.

What is the difference between lactose intolerance and milk allergy?
Many people consider the side effect of lactose intolerance to be an allergic reaction to milk. The allergen of milk allergy is milk protein and not lactose.

When a cow’s milk allergy occurs, the body’s immune system treats cow’s milk protein as a harmful substance that causes a severe allergic reaction (which can be life-threatening in severe cases), and the side effects of lactose intolerance do not affect the immune system. Symptoms do not have too many undesirable consequences for the safety of human life.

Is lactose intolerance contagious?
Since diarrhoea is one of the side effects of lactose intolerance, many people confuse lactose intolerance with an infectious disease that is similar to intestinal infections. In fact, lactose intolerance is not contagious, but there is a possibility of genetic inheritance.

Can lactose intolerance be completely cured?
Whether a lactose intolerance can be cured depends on what kind of lactose intolerance you have. Adult type lactose intolerance generally accompanies life and is not easily cured. A secondary lactose intolerance caused by temporary damage to the intestinal mucosa is cured when intestinal function is restored.

What effects does lactose intolerance have on the body?
Many people give up milk or dairy products because of lactose intolerance. Milk is rich in important nutrients such as zinc, vitamin B2 and vitamin B12. At the same time, milk and dairy products are one of the most important sources of calcium for the human body.

Abstaining from dairy products can cause the body to lack important nutrients such as calcium and vitamin D. Vitamin D can help our body to better absorb calcium. A calcium deficiency can also increase the risk of osteoporosis. In order to normally consume cow’s milk and dairy products and to maintain our body’s long-term health, people with lactose intolerance can supplement their body with lactase.